Now on this 27th day of June, 2023, the Board of Commissioners, Sheridan County, Kansas met in regular session with Chairman Mike "Buck" Mader presiding. Other members present were Joe Bainter, Kyle Ahlenstorf, County Attorney Joe Pratt and County Clerk Heather Bracht. Guest was The Sheridan Sentinel.

At 8:00 a.m. Mader called the meeting to order.

Those in attendance stood and recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Joe Herskowitz, Road & Bridge Supervisor came to the table. Herskowitz advised they would work on road 80E/160S, working north and south. A blade went down last week. Repair estimate is \$78,379.60 which includes a reconditioned axle and transmission. The board did not make a decision on the repair. Herskowitz will get the price for a used blade with 2000 hours on it. The 2008 grader is still out and not repaired. The board advised Herskowitz to get prices for extended warranties for all the equipment. Herskowitz stated they are trying to get over the roads still. Several employees are out. Area at the "Elk Ranch" bridge needs millings put down. There was discussion about roads and grading.

Pratt presented the Settlement Documents and Corporation General Warranty Deed for the home located at 1241 Pine, Hoxie that the board sold. Mader made a motion to approve and sign the documents, seconded by Ahlenstorf. Carried 3-0.

Angel Cushing came to the table to discuss the Chisholm and Western Trail designation and the affect on landowners in Sheridan County. On a motion by Bainter and second by Ahlenstorf Resolution No. 23-53 – A Resolution Opposing Chisholm National Historic Trail and Western National Historic trail Designation was approved and signed. Motion carried 3-0. Cushing presented examples of a letter that concerned citizens could type and submit to congress opposing the trail.

Mader made a motion to approve the June 20, 2023 minutes as amended. Ahlenstorf seconded. Carried 3-0.

On a motion by Bainter and second by Ahlenstorf, three Treasurer Abatement's were approved and signed. Carried 3-0.

The revised Vyve Business Service Order removing the fire department was approved and signed by the Chairman on a motion by Mader and second by Bainter. Carried 3-0.

The June 27, 2023 warrants were approved on a motion by Mader and second by Ahlenstorf. Carried 3-0.

District Court Administrator JoEllyn Agrabright and Rhonda White, Clerk of District Court came to the table. The court is looking for \$41,000 in funding from the county to pay for new courtroom video presentation and video conferencing equipment. They have received \$45,000 in SPARK funding that will go towards courtroom audio recording/reinforcement/control. Agrabright stated installation is set for the 2nd week in September and they need to know within the next two weeks whether the county will fund additional equipment. Agrabright and White exited the meeting. No decision was made.

Deb Kaufman, EMS Director, came to the table. At 10:05 Mader made a motion to enter into executive session for a period of 20 minutes for the discussion of non-elected personnel. Bainter seconded. Carried 3-0. Present were the board, Kaufman, Bracht and Pratt. At 10:25, the door opened and Mader made a motion to extend the executive session for a period of 20 minutes. Bainter seconded. Carried 3-0. The door opened at 10:48. Kaufman will advertise for full-time EMT at an hourly rate of \$15.65/hr. They would be eligible for regular full-time employee benefits. Kaufman would set their schedule, working at least a day shift, middle of the night and one Saturday or Sunday.

The following warrants were reviewed and approved by the board:

General	\$ 27,101.41	Road & Bridge	\$ 108,288.90
Noxious Weed	\$ 7,697.80	Public Transp.	\$ 535.38
Landfill	\$ 384.51	Tech Fund	\$ 1,966.75
Spec Hwy	\$ 1,500.00	VIN	\$ 39.00
F911	\$ 3.548.72		

At 11:10 a.m. with no further business, Mader made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Bainter. Carried 3-0. There will be no meeting on Tuesday, July 4. The next regular meeting will be Monday, July 10, 2023 at 8:00 a.m. in the commissioner room.

Attest:		
County Clerk	Chairman	